

Winning Films, Scripts, Television and Video

The Urban Mediamakers are so blessed to have had such a talented group of filmmakers and writers with projects exhibited during the 8th Urban Mediamakers Film Festival. Our desire is to assist each project in fulfilling the dream of the project. As independents, we have the ability to really change the world, one story at a time. Our challenge to you is to reach out and seek to collaborate with people you met during UMFF 2009.

Congratulations to all filmmakers that submitted to UMFF 2009. Completing a project is always a big accomplishment. To our winners, thank you for exceptional projects!

The 8th Edition – October 16-18, 2009 – Marriott Hotel, Norcross, Georgia

-- Best Feature

Winner: "Sabar" by Chike C. Nwoffiah.

<u>Nominees:</u> "Prince of Broadway" by Sean Baker; "Slap Down" by Jesus Christ and Alex Kapper; "Do You?" by Gordon Williams (Houston, TX); "The Perfect Woman" by Marvel Gima; "Blue Like The Morning" by Melanie Paizis-Jones.

Honorable Mention: "Complexion" by Vandon Gibbs (Georgia).

-- Audience Award

Winner: "Sabar" by Chike C. Nwoffiah. (Decision based on: 25% views online through B-side, and 75% number of people that actually attended the screening.) *In The Runnings for the Audience Award:* "Bullets Over Brownsville," "Founding Fathers," "Complexion," "Paper or Plastic?" "Live, Love & Loss," and "Waterfront Access?"

-- Best Music Video

Winner: "Shining: A Tribute to Michael Jackson" by Trevor Parham (California). <u>Nominees:</u> "Forgive Me Father" by Heinz Stossier; "Waterfront" by Floanne Ankah; "Cold In Here" featuring Rece Slim by Ron Jones, Jr.; "City of Noise" by Mitch Barany.

-- Best Shortie Short

Winner: "Seven Minute Rush" by Jarrod C. Austin.

<u>Nominees:</u> "Confession" by Enrico Marcellino; "Paper or Plastic?" by Martin Rosete; "Jalebi" by Nawaz.

Honorable Mention: "Street Justice" by Donna Roman Hernandez.

-- Best Short

Winner: "The Shadows: Chapter 1" by Chigozie O. Nwokeafor.

<u>Nominees:</u> "Lady In A Box" by Jeffrey Stanley; "Jewelry Box" by Janice R. Thomas; "Acqua Alta" by Laura Litten; "Rain, A Love Story?" by Anthony; "Sampalataya" by Erykah Del Mundo; "Children for a Day" by Glenn Pack; "ME IZ MAN-I-MAL" by Bervick Deculus; My Cousin's Keeper" by Tom Woodruff, Jr.

Honorable Mention: "Moments" by C.J. Schmidt and Sampalataya by Erykah Del Mundo.

-- Best Animation

Winner: "Tomboy" by Karleen Pendleton Jimenez.

<u>Nominees:</u> "Skylight" by David Baas; "Eatliz" by Guy Ben Shetrit (Isreal); "As Soon on TV" by Students in Lee Crowe's animation class at the Art Institute of Atlanta (Georgia).

Honorable Mention: "We Are All Here" by Yonghwa Choi.

-- Best Documentary Short

Winner: "Newark Street Preachers" by Donna Roman Hernandez (New Jersey).

<u>Nominees:</u> "Maasailand" by Nestor Colombo; "In My Shoes" by Oliver McClendon (New York); "Blind Tom, The Last Legal Slave in America" by Andrew Regan (Georgia); "The Promised City" by Anne Galisky.

<u>Honorable Mention:</u> "After the Waters Receded: Rebuilding New Orleans Public Schools" by Kennedi Greenwood (New Orleans, LA); "Aging Tree of Knowledge II: Command of Sankofa-Servant Leader - Dr. David Anderson" by Adrian M. Esposito (Rochester, NY).

-- Best International

Winner: "Playground" by Avril Evans.

<u>Nominees:</u> "Type O" by Brianna Brown (Mississauga, ON Canada); "Intimidad" by Ashley Sabin and David Redmon; "Scissu" by tom Bewilogua (Germany); "Sampalataya" by Erykah Del Mundo.

Honorable Mention: "Propaganda" by C.J. Smidt.

-- Best Documentary Feature

Winner: "White Wash" by Ted Woods.

<u>Nominees:</u> "Disappearing Voices: The Decline of Black Radio" by U-Savior Washington; "Founding Father" by Ron Lawrence; "Move" featuring the Deeply Rooted Dance Theater by Theodore Collatos; "Intimidad" by Ashley Sabin and David Redmon.

<u>Honorable Mention:</u> "India of K-Town" by Beverly Price and "Inspire Me! Weightless Flights of Discovery" by Brian and Sean McLain.

-- Best Script:

Winner: "Rhythm of the Night - The Rise and Fall of the DeBarge Family" by Rosetta James. *Nominees:* "Shotgun" by Wanda Weaver Kight (Georgia); "Too Fat To Fly South" by Anthony Amenta (California); "The Battle Within" by LaKeisha Fleming (Georgia); "Lemon Tea: The Emancipation of Liberty" by Marcia L. Sinclair; "Muddy Water" by Corey Moore (California); "Mind Over Murder" by Karimah Boston (Georgia); "The Ontologial Argument" by Youssef Abdelwahab (Cairo, Egypt); "Double Dribble" by Winston Barber (Texas); and "Skin" by Josephone Mackerras (Paris, France).

Honorable Mention: "Sista Trouble" by Roderick Powell (California).

-- Best Television or Web Series

Winner: "She's Got Isshoes" by Nina, Foxx.

<u>Nominees:</u> "Art in Hidden Places" by Vanessa D. Anthony; "On the Grind" by Mike Ray; "Buffalo Soldiers Tribute" by Wayne Hubbard; "The World of Cory & Sid" by Caryn Hayes, Rick Walls, Laura Somers, and Seth Sherwood.

-- Best Student Film

Winner: "In My Shoes" by Student Media Activists (New York)

<u>Nominees:</u> "Igbo Kwenu!" by Chinonye Chukwu (AK); "DiverseCity" by Omar E. Hamid; "Type O" by Brianna Brown (Mississauga, ON Canada); "The Promised City" by Anne Galisky.

Honorable Mention: "Propaganda" by C.J. Smidt.

-- Best Student Script:

Winner: "May Showers" by Chad Zemel, Alpharetta, Georgia.